Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 190 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is a lot of belittling and down talking from Upper Management(in 6 reviews)

  • "Senior management not willing to make the hard decisions to help company move forward(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "bets work environment in distribution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    this is a very positive friendly work environment. everyone appreciates each other and helps motivate the team, a true team.

    Cons

    no cons that i can think of.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-14
  2. "Algona nighthawks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Algona, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly team culture. High ethical standards, integrity & respect among co-workers. Everyone is driven towards success.

    Cons

    Nothing to think of right now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-13
  3. "Algona Night Hawk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Order Selector in Algona, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers. Culture built on respect. Management is perceptive to employee needs.

    Cons

    excessive overtime during peak season

    Advice to Management

    None at this time

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-13
  4. "Algona Night Hawks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Order Selector in Algona, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hours are great. Benefits are good. Moral is good among employees.

    Cons

    nothing I can think of at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Great job and keep pushing on!

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-13
  5. "Algona Night Hawks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Algona, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Friendly and Like the Hrs

    Cons

    Not at the moment right now

    Advice to Management

    Lead from the front

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-13
  6. "Algona location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Algona, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture. Strong work ethic. Transparency has increased, so it feels like there isn't as much favortism as in the past.

    Cons

    Communication between management and staff could use some improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Please improve communication. Sometimes there is confusion amungst the employees.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-13
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse culture with challenging workloads and opportunity to work in different areas of business.

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities due to the relatively smaller size of the organization.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-11

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review. Growth may be limited in smaller locations but with over 40 locations in the US, there are opportunities if people are willing to move.

  8. "Fast paced environment; enjoyable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Planner in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was extensive and very helpful. Hiring process is well thought out and flexible. HR extremely helpful during hiring process and always has an open door. Better than average benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing significant as of yet

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-10

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Welcome to Central! Some jobs take a while to learn - sounds like you are figuring it out!

  9. "Good Company - lots of layers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Hours and work life balance

    Cons

    company is separated by pet and garden upper management not always engaged lots of work with not a lot of time to complete

    Advice to Management

    Overall a good company to work for

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-04

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Yes, our company is made up of separate Garden and Pet businesses but we are all one team with a focus on doing the right thing.

  10. "Dedicated employees!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    At Central you're given interesting projects, stretch responsibilities and supportive management. We are a large company with a small/family company feel. Recent changes to our 401k matching contribution have been great! Our health insurance benefits are very competitive in terms of coverage and cost.

    Cons

    There have been changes recently in some leadership positions, but I am confident our Board and executive leadership will keep us right on track with our short and long term goals!

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-23

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We love hearing from happy employees!!

Found 190 reviews