British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 25 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly staff, work around your prior commitments(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "In being a charity it’s to be cutting edge in terms of innovation(in 31 reviews)

  • "No cons at all great place to work(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Non profit. Good controls on corporate expenditure in comparison to many firms. Some really good employees. Great volunteers. Varied work. Relatively short working week, 35 hours, no late nights or long shifts.

    Cons

    Major conflicts between the charity image & the business requirement. Too much pressure on target & kpi achievement, a charity which threatens letters of concern is not my idea of an understanding employer. They encourage whistle blowing & safeguarding yet a line manager will say "we don't talk about such things". Far too many area & regional managers & directors, not required. Ill thought out notions of what is required while ignoring what the employees & customers need.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-03-25

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 31, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you don't feel that we, as an organisation, are listening to you. If you feel that we can be of any support in this area, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. We value your feedback, so this and your other points regarding targets and our use of letters of concern, will be shared with the relevant teams. Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  2. "great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff, very welcoming

    Cons

    sometimes quite on shop floor

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-03-07

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really pleased you’re enjoying working with your colleagues,; we believe it’s our people that make BHF such a great place to work. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  3. "amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    it was a good experience. built a lot of different transferable skills.

    Cons

    sometimes other employees did not carry their weight.

    British Heart Foundation2020-03-07

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really pleased that you had the opportunities to build new skill. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  4. "Improvements happening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation

    Pros

    Good training programs in place, work as teams writhing stores.

    Cons

    Heavy work if you don’t have a good volunteer base.

    British Heart Foundation2020-02-24

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Our people are at the heart of everything we do and we invest heavily in their careers. Therefore we're so pleased to hear you're able to take advantage of our training opportunities. We wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  5. "Great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Erdington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely staff. Great environment. Enjoyable.

    Cons

    Bus journey can be long depending on traffic.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-15

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review! We wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Lots of coffee and banter.

    Cons

    Not enough volunteers , too much Alcaffe and banter.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-11

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. We'll pass on your comments about Volunteer recruitment to the relevant teams. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Llandudno, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working here and found the staff to be polite, professional and quick on their feet.

    Cons

    I found it a little hard working the old till that was at the store in Llandudno.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-04

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! It is great to hear that you loved the culture and working with your colleagues. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience that our retail colleagues have so your comments about the till system will be shared with the retail operations team. Wishing you all the best in your new adventure!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Place I ever been too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    no pros at all (it's that bad)

    Cons

    rude staff, wont give references

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-03-07

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 19, 2020

    Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We are really disappointed to hear of your experience with us as. We want to reassure you that we do take the points you have raised seriously and if you are keen to discuss these confidentially please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk. Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer 

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Small space to work in

    British Heart Foundation2020-01-22

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 27, 2020Volunteering Team Co-Ordinator

    Thanks for leaving your feedback, unfortunately, some of our shops and stores are challenging in terms of space to work in! We are constantly looking for other retail outlets when our current shop leases are up for renewal. Thank you giving your time to the BHF Clare - Volunteering Team

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Editor 

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    A great cause, friendly people, good benefits (eg 30 days' annual leave, in-house exercise classes),

    Cons

    Work life balance often good but could be improved

    British Heart Foundation2020-01-15

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 28, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. Our friendly colleagues and benefits often come up as positive points in our reviews. It is also great to see that you've been utilising the flexible working that is available. We are always looking to improve our people experience here so your feedback will be shared with the relevant teams. We wish you continued success with us! :)

    Continue reading
Found 355 reviews