British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 308 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation CEO Simon Gillespie
Simon Gillespie
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy(in 17 reviews)

  • "friendly staff, nice environment, good location(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Charity pay doesn't compete with private sector(in 27 reviews)

  • "Often left alone on shop floor as a new volunteer(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a different approach to retail. Working for a good cause.

    Cons

    You get abuse from costumers very often and you costumer service team on head office don't support you at all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good staff, they leave the business because they feel they are not appreciated.

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Poor management and no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ebay in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues Flexi hours Lunch/tea breaks Food sometimes provided

    Cons

    No career progression Poor management Data protection

    Advice to Management

    I want to start my review by saying I worked with some of the nicest people in this job role it’s just unfortunate that the work environment was so negative and that management here were so disappointing. This work place gives you the promise of staff progression and supporting development but this is unfortunately a lie and only applies to a select favoured few. The glass ceiling is real here, opportunities are... dangled in front of employees but are never achievable. Despite having relevant qualities and expertise for projects you will be overlooked. It was made clear by management that employees have to prove themselves to even be considered for promotion, even then, don’t get your hopes up, internal progression here is practically non existent. Passion in the charity and determination to progress within the company will be used for their benefit. Management’s approach to Mental Health and staff support was confusing, offering support but then asking why people aren’t hitting targets even though colleagues have expressed their issues and need for help. Confidentiality is something that certain members of management here take as a light suggestion. Data protection breeches happened so often I lost count. Sensitive HR information about colleagues past and present was discussed like office gossip. I would advise that management revisits the data protection policy the charity promotes as they are clearly out of touch with the appropriate behaviour and legal responsibilities they are required to adhere to. Also when these breeches were brought to the attention of relevant managers and staff there appeared to never be appropriate action taken, it seems that members of management get away with a lot of misconduct here. Due to the lack of progression and poor management, staff retention is low which is unsurprising. The staff morale is low. It would appear that despite a persons expertise in an area they are still not qualified enough to make a decision and are constantly questioned on their actions. Like any retail environment, there are personal targets, KPIs, ASPs. There is no room for negotiation here, they all have to be perfect or you are doing something wrong. I would advise management to observe their employees job roles and the processes they have to do on a daily basis before they accuse their employees of being the problem. There are so many issues with how stock is processed here that to simply push blame onto the staff for not trying hard enough is shameful. Perhaps celebrate little successes instead of constantly discussing the failures. Perhaps consider all employees instead of the select few. Offer opportunities fairly and openly to employees who want to get involved. “Take care of your employees and they will take care of your business”. Words that I think would be beneficial for management to keep in mind. I began working here really passionate about the charity but unfortunately left feeling that they had become very corporate and inconsiderate of their employees.

    Show More
    British Heart Foundation2019-09-09
  3. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Management and helping customers was nice

    Cons

    Long hours, not getting a lot of activities to do in a day

    British Heart Foundation2019-08-24

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 3, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed helping customers and providing a great customer experience. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure!

  4. "Good but not always something to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Eltham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice friendly people. The manager was really happy to leave me with complicated or important tasks despite being young.

    Cons

    When the manager changed days no one got me anything to do and it was very boring.

    Advice to Management

    Be clear on what different ages can be allowed to do as many people were scared to give me jobs deemed complicated even though I was able

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-04

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 9, 2019

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review . Feedback from our volunteers is really important and we use it to help improve the volunteering experience at BHF. I'm really pleased that you worked with nice friendly people and that the manager gave you lots of interesting ...

    Show More
  5. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    I get to meet new people

    Cons

    No cons to be described

    British Heart Foundation2019-08-02

    British Heart Foundation Response

    August 20, 2019

    hello there and thank you for your review . As you have said volunteering is a great way to meet new people and I'm glad you enjoyed that as a volunteer. Thank you for all your support Jo - Volunteering Team

  6. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Maidstone, England

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gained a lot of new skills working behind the scenes and staff are friendly providing flexible hours

    Cons

    Tasks are often repetitive which can be boring

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-22

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 25, 2019

    Hello there , thank you for the review. I'm really pleased that you gained lots of new skills , this is a real benefit to volunteering . We aim to give volunteers the chance to try lots of different roles to give variety and prevent repetition, we will take your feedback on board. ...

    Show More
  7. "Bhf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TILL OPERATOR in Hitchin, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people Expands skills on a wider range

    Cons

    There’s a lot of walking on some days

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-17

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 31, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It’s great to see you are building on your skills and that you enjoy working with your colleagues. We wish you continued success with us!

  8. "bad management. no consequences for blatantly bad employers not doing job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice people to work with. all similar ages.

    Cons

    senior management really bad. No consequences for employers who do not achieve basic requirements in their role and seniors brush it under the carpet. seniors struggle to handle pressure and there are clear favourites in the company. if you are a favourite, you will get ahead. if not, expect to stay in the same position even if you are good at your job. no clear structure and easy to get away with not doing job... properly. no

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    top management should be keeping their eyes on how teams are managed by their directors.

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-31

    British Heart Foundation Response

    August 14, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed working with your colleagues, but are really disappointed that you did not have the overall experience with us that we would want or expect. We want to reassure ...

    Show More
  9. "Shockingly manipulative management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is considerably ok for the type of work done.

    Cons

    I am not normally the type to write reviews on companies, but if writing this review stops others from being treated the way I was, then I have done something right. To call this a charity, is laughable. I am not speaking on behalf of the efforts they raise to fund research etc, or on behalf of the charity shops, but I will speak about the head office and 'behind the scenes' of the company. I am absolutely disgusted... and damaged by the way I was treated at this organisation, and it has genuinely had an impact on how I will approach future roles. I entered the job as a confident, happy and eager person, and was quite literally pushed out of the door two weeks later as an insecure, anxious, scared and desperately unhappy person. In the lead up to my 'termination of probation' which I will come to, I experienced working in this unwelcoming, cold and petty environment. I have worked in various roles before, my previous role working with hundreds of colleagues and I have never come across such calculating and quite frankly scary people before. The office is mostly silent, with a 'zero talking work like a trojan' attitude and a feeling surrounding it that you cannot trust anyone. I was told at the start of my second week that I was to make a drink ten minutes later than I usually did, because it was 'too early'. The rules were petty and my management made me feel highly uncomfortable. I appeared to be in the minority of the other employees- young, confident and educated to a particular level which I increasingly got the picture that they didn't like, leading me to wonder why they hired me in the first place. My dismissal was based upon my presence in a conversation in which ANOTHER member of the team uttered a racist remark. I was given no meeting to discuss this before it had already been decided to terminate my contract. The person in question was not in work on this day and had also not been consulted, however I later found out she had not been dismissed. I explained my story, stating that I was present at the time of the conversation yet had not used these words yet no effort was made to understand my point of view. I was told I was unable to 're enter' the room, and my belongings were quite literally dumped on the table in front of me. I was told that 'you'll get your money' and that they were paying me for 2 weeks extra than I had worked to cover the month. Many of my friends and family members had suggested that my face did not fit in the company and they found a way to get rid of me. After weeks of appealing, sending whistleblowing emails and emails to HR, I was suddenly ignored and have been since. I asked for concrete evidence in regards to the grounds of my dismissal and was told that there was no evidence to be given. I have just read another review that was highly similar to my case and needed to reiterate this. The way in which I was spoken to and the tone that was used scared me, and I would not want anyone to have to go through what I went through.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As said above, the management are vicious and calculated. I would really like it for others sakes, if the training of these individuals was investigated into and people in these positions were employed for being good at their jobs but also nice, genuine people rather than those who are fighting to get to the top.

    British Heart Foundation2019-08-21
  10. "Graduate Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Improve my skills good communication with different peoples achieve more confidence to repair electrical appliances.

    Cons

    some of electrical appliances that peoples donated is not in good conditions

    Advice to Management

    Refugee status Work permitted in UK Pass my degree with 2:1 from LJMU

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 17, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review. It’s great to read your comments about improving your skills and confidence with us. We wish you continued success with BHF!

Found 308 reviews