Bloomberg L.P. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Bloomberg L.P. Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bloomberg L.P. CEO Michael R. Bloomberg
Michael R. Bloomberg
1,163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food for lunch in the Princeton office(in 362 reviews)

  • "good work life balance in machine learning team(in 262 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (55)

    "Best culture. work place, colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing office, great ambiance and vibes, transparency, free food If you perform well, they will invest so much in you from knowledge to mental health wise Philanthropy Diversity Great culture Dynamic work, never dull

    Cons

    Really I don't have much. Just the fact that if you quit, even if for personal reasons like do a MBA or a family matter, it is impossible to go back in

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-02-06
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay Good work life balance

    Cons

    Some of the work is boring

    Continue reading
    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-12
  3. "Sotware Engineer role in Bloomberg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time

    Pros

    Dealing with challenging problems day to day in Software infrastructure team, and having broad ways of learning. Training classes are always available at the company.

    Cons

    The formality and pieocracy of the company culture. The complexity of the code structure of some of the legacy code that has been sitting there for a while.

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-12
  4. "Great company and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Editor in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a great 4 years at Bloomberg News and would recommend anyone to work there. I particularly liked my team and keep in touch with some of them.

    Cons

    It's been four years since I've worked there but growth seems to have stalled a bit, limiting upside opportunities for talented people.

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-12
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment with interesting tech.

    Cons

    Office politics are definitely a con.

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-10
  6. "Relaxed environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks Chilled environment Great product stiff learning curve

    Cons

    but not so good career projection

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-09
  7. "Amazing Place . Could & should be so much more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Smart Colleagues willing to help and do stuff - Possibility to learn about pretty much anything and touch to any subject making it an intellectually challenging place (if you want) - Amazing offices : You can meet the all world here - Vibrant culture

    Cons

    - Don't take much risk on the business front anymore : Incremental improvements at that stage . The revolution was yesterday - Work hard but moderate rewards. Forget about the shares : You will only be an employee ... forever - Career progression is limited due to flat structure

    Continue reading
    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-07
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities for lateral and horizontal move, good hiring, great people, great perks

    Cons

    Too rigid in their management, micromanagment, inflexible working policies

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-05
  9. "A great place for a journalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Colleagues: as other media outlets have shrunk, Bloomberg had sucked up a lot of that talent. You get to work with pretty high-class people. - Internal mobility: the company encourages people to move between reporting teams and locations. - The platform: the stories vary depending on the audience they target, whether it's terminal users, web readers or Businessweek. There is also TV and TicToc on Twitter. - Stability: the terminal makes the money, so reporters are shielded from a lot of direct financial pressures journalists are subject to at most media companies. - Pay: it's finance-related, after all.

    Cons

    - Stability: when you don't eat what you kill, people can get a little bit complacent. Fewer incentives to change and try new things. - Management: while the edit-in-chief right now is brilliant, the organization is a little bit top heavy.

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-05
  10. "Food was meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice co workers, smart staff and fun holiday events

    Cons

    Strict hours, need to do overtime if late

    Continue reading
    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-04
Found 3337 reviews