Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated 1 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the only cons that I can see on my experience was my long hours of daily driving to get to the work(in 8 reviews)

  • "lots of desk work, tech issues, low pay for interns(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "No chance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great overall company. From management to workers

    Cons

    To quick to judge. Don’t be a rat.

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2020-03-01

    Black & McDonald Response

    March 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black &McDonald team!

  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment to be working in

    Cons

    None. Not any cons working in B&M

    Black & McDonald2020-02-26

    Black & McDonald Response

    March 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  3. "Project Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, great culture. Highly value employees.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company.

    Black & McDonald2020-01-15

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 17, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  4. "WORST COMPANY EVER"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The electricians in the field are lots of fun

    Cons

    unethical/ corrupt/decietful/ no safety ethics and try to bury them!!! after a severe health issue while at work, they didn't want to pay medical so found 1 PO in 2 years issued incorrectly so they could let me go with cause!!!!! PM and VP are always hiding unethical and corrupt behaviour for each other. Superintendant uses intimidation to try to skirt safety policy. Teaches employees how to cheat the D&A tests. As the only female in my division, i wasn't paid the equivelant, although went over and above my job duties, got no mileage, fuel or compensation for the extras.

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2020-02-18

    Black & McDonald Response

    February 25, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Black & McDonald was not a positive one. We consider people our greatest asset and take your feedback very seriously. We have already shared your feedback with the appropriate Managers, and thank you for taking the time to post your review and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve.

  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Saint John, NB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good wage, great to ework for.

    Cons

    No bonuses, need more vacation with pay

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2020-01-01

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  6. "Responsible for all Labour and Employment matters"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Family owned, Canadian, and a long successful history of success.

    Cons

    None, great place to work and build a career.

    Black & McDonald2019-12-27

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  7. "Good starter company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management and supporting team members

    Cons

    Long hours low wages cold work

    Black & McDonald2019-12-13

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 3, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  8. "Hard to find a better employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High integrity. Engaged leadership. Contributions valued. Community minded. Support their team. Family.

    Cons

    Work at alignment between policy adherence.

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-12-12

    Black & McDonald Response

    December 12, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  9. "Great people - No chance for career progression"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GIS 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    People are great, chance to get different experiences, good first job.

    Cons

    Little investment in new technology, terrible pay, no chance for advancement

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-11-26
  10. "estimating commerical and industrial mechanical projects"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Regional Mechanical Estimator in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, all personnel were great to work with

    Cons

    to much time at a desk and not meeting contractors and jobsites

    Black & McDonald2019-11-18

    Black & McDonald Response

    November 20, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are very sorry to hear your experience with Black & McDonald was not a positive one. We consider people our greatest asset and take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve.

Found 103 reviews