Black & McDonald Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the only cons that I can see on my experience was my long hours of daily driving to get to the work(in 7 reviews)

  • "I was traveling for so long it messed up my work/life balance a few times(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big company with interesting projects

    Cons

    Lot of paperwork, and complicated procedures

    Advice to Management

    Give more credit to engineers and technically skilled people

    Black & McDonald2019-10-28
  2. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Inspector 

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great team, at-your-pace job

    Cons

    Dogs attacking you while in the field

    Black & McDonald2019-10-15
  3. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald

    Pros

    Great and friendly environment, great people

    Cons

    Lack of opportunities, not clear self development system

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your employees, develop/organize more team building programs/events

    Black & McDonald2019-09-15
  4. "Great Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Principles on which the company was founded are still valued today - Exciting diverse project portfolio - Opportunity to find best fit between divisions and trades - Personal and professional growth opportunities

    Cons

    - Lack of communication between divisions and regions - Sometimes lingering feeling of trepidation in the office

    Advice to Management

    They do a great job of connecting with people at all levels of the company. Most people are very nice and accommodating. Focus on the leadership, that's what has the biggest impact in workers daily lives.

    Black & McDonald2019-08-22
  5. "Electrical Awareness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Power Lineman in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team effort,safety awareness, great Benefits.

    Cons

    In climate weather.irregular shift.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your workforce.

    Black & McDonald2019-08-07
  6. "Professional, Fair, Fun and Engaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging and fun. Effort and accomplishments are well recognized.

    Cons

    Sometimes collaboration between departments could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep the lines of communication open both up and down in the organization.

    Black & McDonald2019-07-23
  7. "Toxic Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Don't need to be that qualified to work here

    Cons

    Toxic Sales Culture, Poor Sales Managers, Too much micromanaging, a lot of office politics, lack of teamwork

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring such cut-throat people that do not care about their coworkers

    Black & McDonald2019-08-22
  8. "On site manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Great ppl

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from direct manager

    Black & McDonald2019-06-29
  9. "Poor managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Tools and material are usually available not they have much to do with that as they rely on the client.

    Cons

    Poorly run project by management. Ask for feedback just to shut you down. Unable to resolve simple issues for weeks at a time. No proactive approach and couldnt plan a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for a picnic.

    Advice to Management

    Realize you do not know everything. Employee experience and quit telling everyone safety is priority and throw the cost of it in our face. Shut the hell up about people being replaceable you need us more then we need you.

    Black & McDonald2019-07-12
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bowmanville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed office atmosphere. Strong commitment to safety and quality. Fun work events. Involvement helping the local community.

    Cons

    I do not have any at this time.

    Black & McDonald2019-06-10
Found 95 reviews