Bain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Bain & Company Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company CEO Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
531 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    -smart colleagues, stimulating work, great work environment

    Cons

    -there are long work hours

    Bain & Company2018-10-23
  2. Helpful (560)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates... and consultants are going to be tenacious in coming up with creative approaches. Those managers and partners are going to knock down barriers for you, connect you where you need to be connected, guide, support, direct and re-direct you. The office support staff is going to fix your computer after you spilled coffee on it for the third time, find you the unfindable data source, and smile and hand you a baked good after you ask for help re-doing dozens of slides. You are empowered and accountable but you are not alone. And the best part is you can't fail. Because after all, what all those people are reinforcing is that a Bainie never lets another Bainie fail.

    Show More

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take... a second to realize that it would be a lot less fun if the reverse were true. And isn't that precisely why you wanted this job in the first place anyway? It sure was for me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find and promote the leadership that lives our operating principles.

    Bain & Company2015-10-06

    Bain & Company Response

    September 27, 2016Director, Global Consultant Talent Management

    You have captured the essence of what it means to work here! Thanks for sharing your experience.

  3. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the work we do drives impact and results! And people are smart, supportive and fun.

    Cons

    In certain geographies, our branding seems weaker than our competitors

    Bain & Company2019-10-16
  4. "Fabulous place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely supportive and collaborative environment

    Cons

    The work is complicated and difficult because we're solving incredibly complex issues

    Bain & Company2019-10-12
  5. "Believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Partner in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High intensity, high integrity and somehow still way more fun than anything going

    Cons

    requires constant upleveling - always learning, always growing - for better and worse

    Bain & Company2019-10-13
  6. "Fantastic place to make an impact, learn, and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Bain is the best place to develop as a business leader, hands down. The firm has a supportive, driven, down-to-earth culture which is consistent around the world.

    Cons

    The tradeoff between rapid learning and growth is typically long hours, so it's important for individuals to set personal boundaries to achieve work life balance.

    Bain & Company2019-10-11
  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great environment; steep learning curve

    Cons

    No cons, just normal stuff of the industry of consulting

    Bain & Company2019-10-10
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great entrepreneurial and supportive environment

    Cons

    Hours can be very rough

    Bain & Company2019-10-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible culture, awesome people, interesting problems to solve, great personal growth and professional development, minimal weekend work

    Cons

    Slower career trajectory than McKinsey or BCG, hours are getting longer

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow star performers to get promoted quicker - limit project scopes to make more sustainable experience for teams

    Bain & Company2019-10-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing growth with the best people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every day you will work with the smartest people on the planet in a truly supportive environment

    Cons

    Tough hours. You have to bring 100% every day or you'll struggle

    Bain & Company2019-10-04
Found 2690 reviews