Bain & Company Reviews

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company Worldwide Managing Partner Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
635 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Consultant"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    -smart colleagues, stimulating work, great work environment

    Cons

    -there are long work hours

    Bain & Company2018-10-23
  2. Helpful (591)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates and consultants are going to be tenacious in coming up with creative approaches. Those managers and partners are going to knock down barriers for you, connect you where you need to be connected, guide, support, direct and re-direct you. The office support staff is going to fix your computer after you spilled coffee on it for the third time, find you the unfindable data source, and smile and hand you a baked good after you ask for help re-doing dozens of slides. You are empowered and accountable but you are not alone. And the best part is you can't fail. Because after all, what all those people are reinforcing is that a Bainie never lets another Bainie fail.

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take a second to realize that it would be a lot less fun if the reverse were true. And isn't that precisely why you wanted this job in the first place anyway? It sure was for me.

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2015-10-06

    Bain & Company Response

    September 27, 2016Director, Global Consultant Talent Management

    You have captured the essence of what it means to work here! Thanks for sharing your experience.

  3. "Great Place to Grow and Drive Impact on the Biggest Challenges"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive investment in professional development; opportunities to work on the biggest questions for top organizations and drive real impact; outstanding group of talented people and fun culture

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be a challenge given the nature of the work and the level of the demands, although teams look to limit travel and maintain flexibility where possible

    Bain & Company2020-05-20
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Madrid
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic, challenging, great learning, intensity

    Cons

    Traveling, geographic uncertainty, long hours

    Bain & Company2020-05-18
  5. "Great values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Meritocratic and international environment; constantly pushed to work on clients' tough problems

    Cons

    Long hours and constant need of travel

    Bain & Company2020-05-18
  6. "Recommends"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Knowledge Associate in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and people. Approves

    Cons

    Only one disadvantage, slightly conservative

    Bain & Company2020-05-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Highly recommend - amazing people, hard work, overall good culture (albeit office dependent)."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people who are incredibly talented and very fun. Mentors who really invest in your growth. Very interesting work in a lot of fields.

    Cons

    Experiences vary wildly based on cases and teams. It's interesting to reflect on how sometimes a job could really lift you up or bring you down (both professionally and emotionally).

    Bain & Company2020-05-13
  8. "Great place to start your career, learn and have fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting in Milan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fast learning curve, fun atmosphere and great colleagues, interesting topics and activities

    Cons

    unpredictable life pattern (travel, working hrs may fluctuate significantly), sometimes can have the feeling of not having an impact

    Bain & Company2020-05-11
  9. "Great consultancy, amazing company culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and case team experience. Good benefits and compensation, as well as fast-track to career development.

    Cons

    Long working hours on cases

    Bain & Company2020-05-11
  10. "Best in class"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything is pretty good enough

    Cons

    Long working hours, So much traveling

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2020-05-09
Found 2739 reviews