BAE Systems Applied Intelligence Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

BAE Systems Applied Intelligence Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
BAE Systems Applied Intelligence CEO Julian Cracknell (no image)
Julian Cracknell
171 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & BD Apprentice in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and good company incentives/benefits

    Cons

    Not very many at my stage of working for BAE AI

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-02
  2. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Engineer in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *BAE offers maximum flexibility & have great work life balance. *New things to learn & good opportunities for career advance. *Company culture is good.

    Cons

    Compare with my previous experience with different companies, so far I haven't notice any significant cons.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-03
  3. "Principal Consultant role in the south west"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits package. Good work life balance. Some good projects but the pull is towards London and Guildford.

    Cons

    Isolated working at times. Lack of clear direction. Senior managers can be controlling.

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-05
  4. "No-one stronger in the government and national security sectors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very interesting work, and able to work in areas and sectors very few other companies can operate, especially in the international government area. Some amazing people, and fundementally a positive, supportive culture within the business. This is a business that rewards collaboration.

    Cons

    Multiple re-organisations and restructures of internal ways of working - still not recovered fully from all the changes over the past few years. Still in the process of business change from divestment of MSS and Silversky

    Advice to Management

    Stabilise the business. More change is required to make the model work. Remember our biggest and strongest asset has always been our people. A business is either growing, or shrinking, we need to plan to win, and to grow.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-17
  5. "Excellent customer base but lack of proven business experience in leadership and significant talent erosion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Strong engineering skills 2. Strong government and financial services client base 3. Highly innovative technology in pockets 4. Highly talented individuals from graduates through to SMEs

    Cons

    1. External recruitment in to the leadership team is bringing inexperienced or poor performers leading to stagnation of financial performance 2. Far too many G&A heads for scale of business 3. Lack of action on changes. Too much talk, no action. 4. Felt like a retirement club culture

    Advice to Management

    1. Dont tolerate non-performance or lack of decision making at executive level. The industry is fast paced and we are not.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-01
  6. "Important delivery work but irrelevant senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working on important projects and programmes that are key for our national security

    Cons

    Senior management have single handedly managed to now completely disenfranchise all of their staff through countless reorgs, poor IT, poor processes and papering over cracks rather than looking at themselves and their antiquated behaviours.

    Advice to Management

    Sadly I think the answer is nearly all need to take a hard look at themselves and find different roles outside of our once great company.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-01
  7. "Group projects fun, singleton roles less so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant 

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large projects can be exciting and fun. Working days generally ended at a reasonable time.

    Cons

    Singleton roles are hard to get out of. Travel to client site can be a pain.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lost it's niche"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Man in Guildford, England

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture among original Detica staff

    Cons

    Losing it's way with the influx of BAE management

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-06
  9. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free kitkats and fruit were available in office

    Cons

    Rubbish management who left grads on client site to fend for themselves

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees, whether they're in office or on client site

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-21
  10. "Interesting work for go getters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great projects and products to work on if you know where to look!

    Cons

    Strategy and management are often not as transparent as they could be. Opportunity to be a tech disruptor but hard when the seniors only know ship building and slow burn programs.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from the tech sector. Be more bold, invest in people and take risks.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-06
Found 669 reviews