Airbnb "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Airbnb Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 916 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
620 Ratings
Pros
  • "500 in Airbnb credits per quarter, free food (breakfast/lunch/dinner), and all the cool Silicon Valley perks(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great benefits including free lunch and snacks, quarterly travel coupons(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often decision makers are lacking and work/life balance can be challenging(in 60 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains around organizational grown(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Not that great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pilot Perfect Scale in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, travel vouchers on airbnb (500 usd every 3 months), some nice people

    Cons

    Lack of authenticity, global fakeness from the management downwards, my manager told me that i looked like i got a chemical peel because i have a skin condition. They talk about mobility and promotions but its almost impossible to do so. I was told my manager would not support my application to another role since other more tenured agents would be applying and it wouldnt be fair to them if I got it having only been in the company for 7 months.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-06-20
  2. "Do not Get the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Free food and you can bring the dog to the job

    Cons

    Treated like a second class person. Don't have access to internal information, courses. If you are sick, you don't get paid and you guy with a blue badge in order to differentiate yourself among others.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-06-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "After 3 years... Happy I left!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Amazing learning experience - Good benefits - Free food

    Cons

    - NO work/life balance - Middle Management is the WORST! - No check & Balance system to hold management accountable -Incredible lack of growth opportunity!! Some amazing talents have been there for 4 or 5 years with no growth opportunity. - Professional growth does not depend on your hard work, but on how much your manager likes you. - Focused right now solely on IPO. Everything else, including employees are completely deprioritized - TONS of empty promises!!! Airbnb very rarely lives up, or even comes close to keeping the promises it makes to it's employees. - Toxic environment due to bad management and lack of growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-03-14
  4. "Not good as a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Free food at the cafeteria everyday

    Cons

    It obsolete the systems are very old

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-01-17
  5. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    free food, healthcare paid for, commuter benefits, awesome coworkers

    Cons

    pay is low for field

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-12-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Going downhill, this place has become very stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CX Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coupon, free food, some nice colleagues, some of them really fake and brainwashed who ''think'' everything is awesome

    Cons

    Bullying, micro-management, MEETINGS MEETINGS AND MORE MEETINGS

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-11-30
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Explosive growth with an excellent culture and mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Summary: I'm really happy here and it's the best job I've ever had. That said, details: 1. People: The people here are really smart, really nice, and really accommodating of healthy work/life balance which is CRAZY important for longevity and long-term happiness. The people are a pleasure to work with, they're helpful, knowledgeable, and REALLY passionate about the company. I have an amazing Manager who advocates for me and it's been such a great experience. 2. Projects: The projects here are those you can't find elsewhere simply because Airbnb is a one-of-a-kind company. A lot of the operational problems we're building and fixing haven't been navigated before. You have a chance to create new processes, projects, and impact in this industry. 3. Culture: This place is serious about its culture or "Core Values": do the right thing, advance the mission, don't backstab, don't throw people under the bus, and stand up for the underdog. To give you an idea of the kind of people we want: one of our people raised $20 million for immigrant kids separated from their parents on Facebook-- the largest fundraiser in Facebook's history. 4. Benefits + Compensation: They'll comp you properly, trust me. Airbnb gives a generous total compensation package with lots of stock, fully covered health care/dental/vision for you, $500 in Airbnb credits per quarter, free food (breakfast/lunch/dinner), and all the cool Silicon Valley perks. 5. Flexibility: Work from home, work remotely, take PTO-- just make sure your projects get done. A+++ on this.

    Cons

    1. Disorganization: Hyper growth mode has created some disorganization and issues with accountability. It can be difficult to get things done with random PTOs and a softer culture when it comes to communication. 2. Career advancement: Upward mobility/ career advancement expectations can be slow or unclear because of the disorganization. You have to advocate for yourself and develop a great relationship with your manager. 3. Liquidity: Airbnb isn't a public company so those looking to sell their stocks need to wait for a liquidity event or for the company to IPO. As much as stocks are great, they can't pay the bills so giving employees more opportunity to cash out is important for those of us who aren't billionaires. FYI leadership listened to this complaint and they recently gave us a new way to cash out some of our stock + comp which is a great start.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-08-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Security Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fulfilling work. Consistent hours. Decent starting pay for San Francisco. Free food. Good referance on the resume for later work.

    Cons

    Commuting can be terrible. Parking is a problem for a company that owns so many buildings, it seems like they could aquire the local lots. Hopefully aquisition of the latest building will reduce the problem with the lot on the roof.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-10-26
  9. Helpful (5)

    "More cons than pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Food Insurance Travel Coupon every 3 months

    Cons

    If you know the right people you will get promoted - if don't you will not - no matter how good you are! People got promoted in management positions with no experience! If you criticize what is going on you get blamed and ridiculed - criticism is brushed off. Bullying is common and if you complain about it, you are blamed. HR and Management are incompetent and they back each other, so no change will ever happen. The salaries are a joke! Especially for Dublin! The competition pays for similar roles 5-10k more per year. Staff turnover was so massive, people were told not to write any "goodbye" emails anymore as it would affect everybody negatively! There are very few career opportunities, and these are reserved for people who have connections!

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Becoming worse and worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food and quaterly travel coupons

    Cons

    Terrible management No bonus or compensations

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-08-02
Found 916 reviews