Airbnb "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Airbnb Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 30 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
670 Ratings
Pros
  • "500 in Airbnb credits per quarter, free food (breakfast/lunch/dinner), and all the cool Silicon Valley perks(in 48 reviews)

  • "great benefits and great working culture(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many people being hired, which means that work life balance is great (i(in 65 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains around organizational grown(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great, BUT..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, you'll be likely to make friends here. Culture, free food, relaxed atmosphere and quirky offices.

    Cons

    No career development, no learning, strong vegan/liberal/alternative views

    Airbnb2019-12-30
  2. "Awful leadership, but team itself was amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Design Reviewer On Plus in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food (Breakfast, lunch and dinner) Work remote as needed Beautiful office with amazing work spaces Fairly diverse (Though could be better...) Fun off-sites, office activities (first thursday experiences), fun office environment (Contractors were allowed on off-sites on our team, though it may vary within Airbnb)

    Cons

    Leadership was awful and didn't care about our team. Contractors are treated as less than by full-timers Awful fraternity bro culture on parts of the larger team that made a lot of people uncomfortable. No room for growth. I saw someone work extremely hard and be strung along to get converted to a full timer and then get screwed over. "Belonging" a huge theme but the few people that did represent the core values of Airbnb were very underappreciated. Low pay

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can have a really amazing team with an amazing manager that will put in their all, and still be screwed over by the senior management here. Treat your contractors with respect, listen to what they have to say. Y'all just keep running pilots coming to the same conclusions we already know. Not enough cross-collaboration between teams, poor decisions made without asking other teams about their experience which wastes time and hard work. A lot of changing in direction, it was quite a crapshoot. Really unorganized and a lot of blame fell on our team even though we didn't have any support (not to mention there was NO communication to our team and we were often left in the dark about a lot) Many of my teammates have cried due to pressure, and the weirdness with being a contractor made for a competitive environment that lead to a lot of gossip and drama. Some of Airbnb's choices for leadership that has really ruined the experience and added to this bro culture. it seems like people are forgetting the core values of Airbnb.

    Show More
    Airbnb2019-10-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great starting position... Not great advancement opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Organizer in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perfect for those who like to travel and have a flexible schedule. Free food, great benefits, wonderful work culture. Plenty of chances to work cross functionally outside of the Public Policy department

    Cons

    Upward mobility is nearly impossible for this role. In 4 years, only 3 people have been promoted from this position into a more senior position.

    Airbnb2019-08-03
  4. "Free food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Cook in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food and good hours

    Cons

    The bathrooms are very small

    Advice to Management

    Keep it free to all

    Airbnb2019-08-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Not that great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pilot Perfect Scale in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, travel vouchers on airbnb (500 usd every 3 months), some nice people

    Cons

    Lack of authenticity, global fakeness from the management downwards, my manager told me that i looked like i got a chemical peel because i have a skin condition. They talk about mobility and promotions but its almost impossible to do so. I was told my manager would not support my application to another role since other more tenured agents would be applying and it wouldnt be fair to them if I got it having only been in the company for 7 months.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice on making your fake kindness and caring more believable

    Airbnb2019-06-20
  6. "Do not Get the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Free food and you can bring the dog to the job

    Cons

    Treated like a second class person. Don't have access to internal information, courses. If you are sick, you don't get paid and you guy with a blue badge in order to differentiate yourself among others.

    Airbnb2019-06-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "After 3 years... Happy I left!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Amazing learning experience - Good benefits - Free food

    Cons

    - NO work/life balance - Middle Management is the WORST! - No check & Balance system to hold management accountable -Incredible lack of growth opportunity!! Some amazing talents have been there for 4 or 5 years with no growth opportunity. - Professional growth does not depend on your hard work, but on how much your manager likes you. - Focused right now solely on IPO. Everything else, including employees are completely deprioritized - TONS of empty promises!!! Airbnb very rarely lives up, or even comes close to keeping the promises it makes to it's employees. - Toxic environment due to bad management and lack of growth opportunities.

    Show More
    Airbnb2019-03-14
  8. "Not good as a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Free food at the cafeteria everyday

    Cons

    It obsolete the systems are very old

    Airbnb2019-01-17
  9. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    free food, healthcare paid for, commuter benefits, awesome coworkers

    Cons

    pay is low for field

    Advice to Management

    pay people what they are worth.

    Airbnb2018-12-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Going downhill, this place has become very stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CX Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coupon, free food, some nice colleagues, some of them really fake and brainwashed who ''think'' everything is awesome

    Cons

    Bullying, micro-management, MEETINGS MEETINGS AND MORE MEETINGS

    Advice to Management

    Don't bother giving them them advice, they won't listen.

    Airbnb2018-11-30
Found 48 reviews