AgResearch (NZ) Reviews

Updated 21 Mar 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Such a great environment, I miss it!

    21 Mar 2021 - Research Assistant in Dunedin, Otago
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone I worked with was absolutely lovely. I came in with no agricultural knowledge and never felt like I was being talked down to. It was a friendly, supportive environment and I was always happy to be there. - I had many great opportunities to learn new skills and jump into different research groups to lend a hand. The work was diverse and always interesting. - There was a lot of flexibility with work hours; if I needed to head off early, it was always okay as long as I let someone know. - I really appreciated the workshop opportunities and how willing people were to further my skillset.

    Cons

    - Getting there is a bit of a hassle. As beautiful as the campus is, I am glad I never have to travel up Three Mile Hill again! - The pay was pretty average, I was on $18/hr with a MSc degree but was offered a $4 pay rise after a few months. It was enough to live on, but I definitely would've tried to negotiate more if I planned to be there long-term.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice people but no job security

    6 Dec 2020 - Research Technician in Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lovely helpful team, learned a lot of new lab techniques

    Cons

    Lack of job security, a lot of fixed term contracts

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good people bad company attitude towards staff

    30 Mar 2020 - Research Associate in Palmerston
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, interesting work, has a lot of potential, good work life balance

    Cons

    Bad salary, corporate environment encourages bulling culture, business driven not science driven company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great people, flexible work hours

    16 Mar 2020 - Senior Research Associate in Hamilton, Waikato
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance, great scientists to work with

    Cons

    Too much project management was making it difficult to do science

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Good place for work in New Zealand if you are finance professional

    27 May 2019 - FINANCE BUSINESS ADVISOR in Christchurch, Canterbury
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, Company´s culture, Interesting Field, Ability to speak up when you see space for improvement

    Cons

    Lack of formal training (probably only contractor´s issue)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Scientist

    9 Jun 2019 - Research Scientist in Dunedin, Otago
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and salary nice people great campus

    Cons

    High pressure environment can be beurocratic

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people, great science

    8 Jun 2016 - Summer Research Assistant in Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people at AgResearch are wonderful, with excellent communication between different groups. Research is innovative and the summer research position for students is an excellent opportunity and introduction to the scientific industry.

    Cons

    Compensation is not as high as other crown research institutes. Drastic staff reduction in late 2015 due to administrative mismanagement.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Family atmosphere

    7 Nov 2012 - Research Associate in Hamilton, Waikato
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very friendly atmosphere, get to know everyone - Large, beautiful campus - Away from town centre, close to university and residential area - Cutting edge research

    Cons

    - As with most research, plague by lack of funding and competitive funding process - Lower than average salary - Limited career development (common in science)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Scientist in AgResearch

    26 Sep 2017 - Research Scientist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your colleagues are great, the work/life balance is good

    Cons

    The current management has lost sight of the fact that AgResearch is a science provider for NZ Agriculture.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Why are they training so many PhD?

    11 May 2019 - Researcher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a fairly laid-back company. I enjoyed my time over there and the management team was very supportive. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    AgResearch trained way too many PhD students and they don't care about their career development. It cost 1/3 to get a PhD student rather than hiring a postdoc and they give little room for scientist to grow.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with AgResearch (NZ) Job Seekers

Research Fellow
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Learn About the Job

Work at AgResearch (NZ)? Share Your Experiences

AgResearch (NZ) logo
or