AgResearch (NZ) Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 13 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Very good comany to work for and great work environment

    Aug 7, 2021 - Operatins Technecian in Tokanui, Auckland, Auckland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good company to work for and great professional environment.

    Cons

    There is no negative commests i can advise for Agresearch.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Good environment to learn

    May 26, 2021 - Lab Technician in Hamilton, Waikato
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good to learn in here as an internship

    Cons

    Less communication with staffs but still kind and friendly.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    May 13, 2021 - Data Scientist in Christchurch, Canterbury
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work and to start career

    Cons

    No issues in working with AgResearch

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Such a great environment, I miss it!

    Mar 21, 2021 - Research Assistant in Dunedin, Otago
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone I worked with was absolutely lovely. I came in with no agricultural knowledge and never felt like I was being talked down to. It was a friendly, supportive environment and I was always happy to be there. - I had many great opportunities to learn new skills and jump into different research groups to lend a hand. The work was diverse and always interesting. - There was a lot of flexibility with work hours; if I needed to head off early, it was always okay as long as I let someone know. - I really appreciated the workshop opportunities and how willing people were to further my skillset.

    Cons

    - Getting there is a bit of a hassle. As beautiful as the campus is, I am glad I never have to travel up Three Mile Hill again! - The pay was pretty average, I was on $18/hr with a MSc degree but was offered a $4 pay rise after a few months. It was enough to live on, but I definitely would've tried to negotiate more if I planned to be there long-term.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice people but no job security

    Dec 6, 2020 - Research Technician in Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lovely helpful team, learned a lot of new lab techniques

    Cons

    Lack of job security, a lot of fixed term contracts

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good people bad company attitude towards staff

    Mar 30, 2020 - Research Associate in Palmerston
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, interesting work, has a lot of potential, good work life balance

    Cons

    Bad salary, corporate environment encourages bulling culture, business driven not science driven company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great people, flexible work hours

    Mar 16, 2020 - Senior Research Associate in Hamilton, Waikato
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance, great scientists to work with

    Cons

    Too much project management was making it difficult to do science

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Scientist

    Jun 9, 2019 - Research Scientist in Dunedin, Otago
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and salary nice people great campus

    Cons

    High pressure environment can be beurocratic

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Good place for work in New Zealand if you are finance professional

    May 27, 2019 - FINANCE BUSINESS ADVISOR in Christchurch, Canterbury
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, Company´s culture, Interesting Field, Ability to speak up when you see space for improvement

    Cons

    Lack of formal training (probably only contractor´s issue)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Scientist in AgResearch

    Sep 26, 2017 - Research Scientist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your colleagues are great, the work/life balance is good

    Cons

    The current management has lost sight of the fact that AgResearch is a science provider for NZ Agriculture.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with AgResearch (NZ) Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AgResearch (NZ)? Share Your Experiences

AgResearch (NZ) logo
or